I Am Music

For much of history, women have been condemned to oblivion, to leave no trace, not to think and not to assert themselves, forced to fulfil their family obligations.
However, some very brave and daring women managed to banish these chains, freeing themselves from the role of the oppressed and becoming the woman they wanted to be.
This project embraces and promotes the work of some of these female composers from the 19th and 20th centuries and from different countries, using music, theatre and images as a way of reflecting the history and legacy of their lives.
This is a concert of works by women composers, largely unknown but of undeniable quality. An actress will tell their stories accompanied by projected images that will help the audience better contextualise the content of the show.
DeLIS Duo has created “I Am Music” with the aim of making known the history and music of these composers, and to raise awareness about the lack of equal opportunities that women have
faced throughout history.


Henriëtte Bosmans

Sonata for cello and piano (1919).
  1. Allegro maestoso
  2. Un poco allegretto
  3. Adagio
  4. Allegro molto con fuoco

Rebecca Clarke

I’ll bid my heart be still.

Nadia Boulanger

3 pieces for cello and piano.
  1. Modere
  2. Sans vitesse et a l’aise
  3. Vite et nerveusement rythme

Dora Pejačević

Sonata for cello and piano in E minor Op. 35.
  1. Allegro moderato
  2. Scherzo: Allegro
  3. Adagio sostenuto
  4. Allegro comodo